It is all about semantics

It is one of my biggest grips with VMware, and it is consistent across all the product hypervisor, type 1 and type 2.  Snapshot commitment.   Every time I go to commit or Merge a Snapshot, even after 5 years of using the product I get nervous,  Why? I hear you shout.    It is the fact that they state “Delete” and not “Commit” or “Merge” on the button.

Why oh why do they not change this simple thing.  to the known world “Delete” means remove.  Logic states that this means return to the earlier state,  however, VMware logic states that it means “Merge” OR “Commit” .I.E. remove the Snap by adding the data to the Flat file.

If it still confuses me after 5 years, what will it be doing to those that are new to the products.

Please VMware, use clear English and drop the ambiguous buttons.   A simple “Merge” and “Merge All” or “Commit Snap“, “Commit All Snaps” together with a “Roll Back” would suffice here and it would remove all confusion points.

But until that time “REMEMBER THAT DELETE IN SNAPSHOT PARLANCE MEANS COMMIT OR MERGE“.